Meat – It’s NOT what’s for dinner!


Do you want to know one thing you can do to change the world?  Stop eating meat! You probably think I’m some crazy veggie loving hippie(although there’s nothing wrong with that), but I’m not. I was raised on an Irish meat and potato diet and hated vegetables my entire life. As I got older I started to recognize that I needed more vegetables in my diet but it is not until I watched a few documentaries and read some articles on the food industry that I realized the negative effects of America’s eating habits. (I highly recommend Food Inc.)

Some interesting facts:

It takes at least 441 gallons of water to produce 1 pound of meat.  Compared with only 49 gallons to produce a pound of apples.

Americans consume 63 pounds of meat a year.

If every American skipped one meal of chicken per week and substituted vegetables and grains, for example, the carbon dioxide savings would be the same as taking more than half a million cars off of U.S. roads.

I am lucky that I have a personal chef to cook me amazing vegetarian meals (quick plug for my wife’s blog – makinggoodchoicesblog.com) I also still enjoy and eat meat. I don’t think I will ever be a vegetarian but I do try to eat less meat and when I do eat meat I try to make it organic.  Organic food is grown or raised without the use of pesticides or growth hormones.  Less chemicals in the soil means less chemicals in the water and the air which is better for the environment.  Not to mention less chemicals in your food and your body, which is better for your health.

I know giving up on meat may be too much to ask but try to take a meal/day/even week off from meat. When you go food shopping consider the environment and buy organic – it tastes better, it’s better for you and it’s better for the environment.

http://www.edf.org/article.cfm?contentid=6604

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/27/weekinreview/27bittman.html

This entry was posted in Efficiency and Conservation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

