What is Sustainability?


Have you ever sat down and thought about what exactly sustainability is? I know I did not until I was presented with the question in my Sustainable Design Methodologies class. Up until that point I always thought of it as pertaining to the built environment ie. Buildings. however after further thought and conversations I have come to redevelop my ideas of sustainability.

Sustainability is indeed a large and growing part of the built environment, and most likely at the fore front of people’s minds when they think about it, but I believe there is more to it, more beyond the surface. To me sustainability is a way of thinking. Sustainability is meeting our present needs without affecting future generations ability to meet their needs.

Where do you shop? Where do the products come from? Do you turn off the water while brushing your teeth? Could you car pool or take public transpiration to work? To truly live in a sustainable world, I think we need to first evaluate the way we live.

I hope that through this blog we can explore the question of sustainability, look at products and technologies, and be the change we want to see in others.

Tony Keris

This entry was posted in Efficiency and Conservation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

